A fraudster is using Fr
Martin's name and address in an email scam. If
you receive an email that purports to be from Fr
Martin Sylvester, and asks you to reply to
frmartin_syl@yahoo.co.uk, you may safely ignore
it: action is already in hand regarding emails
sent from that account. If it asks you to reply
to another address that ends in "@yahoo.co.uk",
please keep a copy and click here to report it. Thank you!
Any
email claiming to be from Fr Martin, and asking
for help in a financial transaction, telling you
of a legacy, or seeking a donation, is a fake.
A new
variant of the email claims to come from a "Fr
Sixtus Mark." I do not know of any priest of
this name; if such a person does exist, he has no
connection with this parish, and his name may be
being used without his knowledge or consent. You
may safely assume that any email claiming to come
from Fr Sixtus Mark, and using this parish
address, asking for help in a financial
transaction, telling you of a legacy, or seeking
a donation, is a fake.
If
you have replied to such an email, and especially
if your reply included any personal or financial
information, you are earnestly advised to contact
your local police immediately.
|